Pasta! Pasta!

I was never much of a pasta lover as a child, and I still don’t love it but sometimes it does taste mighty delicious! After my adventures in Italy last summer and my daily date with the show “The Chew” which often features delicious pasta dishes, I have found a new appreciation for it. My go-to is often pasta covered in tomato sauce (we like a lot of sauce in this house) with some sort of meat or vegetable, or both. Tonight I wanted something different, something fall like, something loaded with flavor and a little bit special.

I looked around my kitchen this afternoon to find a squash that my mother had given me this past weekend from her stash of vegetables,  staring me in the face. I knew I needed to use it soon, and I had some Lemon Thyme chicken sausage in the fridge that I was dying to use as well. My brain started working hard thinking about how I could them both off in a pasta dish. Add herbs, and keep it light and simple. I knew I was taking my chances as I started cooking, and praying my husband wouldn’t reject this new idea of pasta. Based on the second helpings that were consumed, and the amazing smells that filled our house, I’m pretty certain it was a success!

I paired this dinner with another fall favorite of mine, Whole Cranberry Sauce! The flavors blended perfectly. A side of applesauce or a leafy green salad would make an excellent accompaniment as well!

 

Pasta with Squash, Chicken Sausage, and Feta

Serves 4

1 Squash, Cubed, Roasted (I used a Delicata squash, but you could use any type of squash)

1 lb. Chicken Sausage (I used lemon thyme Chicken sausage)

1/2 Onion, diced

1 clove garlic

Thin Spaghetti or Angel Hair

Olive oil

Thyme

Salt & Pepper to taste

Feta Cheese

Parmesan Cheese

 

Directions:

Preheat oven 425 degrees. Peel and dice squash, place on a baking sheet with olive oil, salt, pepper, thyme. Roast until soft and lightly browned.

Place chicken sausage in a large skillet with non-stick spray and brown over medium-high heat.

In a smaller skillet add olive oil and diced onion. Saute until onion is just about done, add one diced garlic clove.

While Chicken Sausage and onion are cooking, boil water in a pot to cook the pasta.

When the pasta is done cooking, drain and place in a bowl.

Add parmesan cheese, squash, chicken, onion and garlic mixture, and feta cheese to the pasta. Mix ingredients to combine.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Pasta! Pasta!

  1. Pingback: Fridge Clean out | cookingforthelove

Leave a Reply

