Pumpkin Muffins

With all that pumpkin talk yesterday I just had to get to baking something with pumpkin in it! I opted to keep it simple and whip up a batch of pumpkin muffins, which also left enough batter for a small loaf of pumpkin bread! This is the very same pumpkin muffins that my mother made for our family and friends, the famed pumpkin bread that I was talking about yesterday. My mom made these muffins every fall and once the word was out my friends were over to have some! I even would take them to school to give to my friends because they wanted them that badly. I was more than happy to share these tasty treats! I hope you enjoy them as well!

 

Make sure you use festive paper liners, it makes them taste better 🙂

 

This recipe makes quite a bit of batter, so I had enough to make 12 muffins and one small loaf  of bread. Call me crazy, but I’m more of a fan of the bread, not like they taste different because it is the same batter I have just always preferred the pumpkin bread to the muffins. My mother still thinks I’m crazy 🙂

 

 

PUMPKIN BREAD/MUFFINS

2/3 cup shortening
2 -2/3 cups sugar
4 eggs
16oz (1 can) pumpkin
2/3 cup water
3 1/3 cups flour
2 tsps baking soda
1 1/2 tsps salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1//2 tsp cinnamon

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottoms only of 2 loaf pans, makes 5 mini loaves or line muffin tins w/ papers ( enough for at least 2 dozen muffins).  Mix shortening  and sugar in a large bowl.  Add eggs, pumpkin, and water. Blend in flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder and cinnamon.  Pour into pans or muffin tins.  Bake until a wooden pick comes out clean, about 1 hour for breads, 30 minutes for muffins and 30-45 for mini loaves.  Cool slightly. Loosen sides of loaves from pans and remove from pans. Cool completely before slicing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

