Beets

I seem to be on a huge fall vegetable kick, which is no surprise since it is the middle of fall and I always like to try and eat as much in season as possible. About a week ago I was given some beets by my mom who had a bunch left over and didn’t have a use for them. Honestly, they sat in my fridge for a week and I just kept staring at them and having no idea what so ever to do with them. I have never cooked with beets before. I was a beet newbie. While I’ve enjoyed them plenty of times in restaurants or when my grandmother would make her traditional beet eggs, as she did just about every time we would visit. I had never once cooked them or used them on my own.

Source

Other than removing the greens and knowing that I could use them in soups or sauteed on the stove like spinach I had no idea where to start. I did a little google-ing and found various methods to prepare them (roasting, boiling) , so I decided to just call my mom and see what she did with them. Roasting… that is what I came up with, it seems like a lot of roasting has been going on here.  I have to say this was SUPER easy and I will never be afraid of beets staring out of my refrigerator at me.

I trimmed the stems off of the beets and rubbed each one with some olive oil and wrapped them in some foil. I set the oven to 400 degrees and let them roast for about 45 minute, or until I could stick a fork into them. Be careful when you do that, because they like to spit out purple. Once they were done I let them cool until they were still warm, but cool enough to handle and I used a paring knife to peel them. My hands got a little messy but it cleaned right off with some soap and water, no worries. I then stored them in a ziploc baggy in the fridge until I wanted to use them, which was today for lunch in a wonderful salad (pictured below).

Beet Salad

Romaine lettuce

Beets, sliced

Carrots, chopped (or any other root veggie you might have on hand)

Roasted pumpkin seeds

Feta Cheese

Balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper, thyme

So now you don’t have to be afraid of beets either, enjoy!

One thought on “Beets

  1. Pingback: Putting it all together | cookingforthelove

Leave a Reply

