Venison Roast

Last fall my husband decided that he wanted to start hunting… No one really knows where it came from, but I have to say  I can’t complain. The meals that we have been able to have from the Turkey and the Deer that he got last year have been incredible! I have learned how to cook a lot of new things because of this and while I’m not a huge meat fan or red meat fan, I do like to eat venison especially when it is from 3 miles away. Talk about local food. We are down to the last few bits of venison from last hunting season and as he gears up for the upcoming season it is my job to make sure we have room in the freezer for whatever it is that he may be bringing home in the next month or two.

One of the last few pieces of meat that we had left was a roast. I am really not a huge fan of roasts or any sort of slow cooked meal. For some reason I just don’t like the flavor and I typically prefer a more “fresh” taste to my meals. However, I certainly make my Husband eat enough of my healthy food and experiments so I decided tonight would be the night to indulge his preferred “meat and potatoes” diet.

This is the first time I have ever cooked a roast, of any kind. Over the last year I have gotten used to cooking plenty of venison, but the roast was a new one for me. I placed it in a baking dish with some low sodium beef broth and onions. Then flavored it with salt, pepper, and rosemary.

I also decided to add some potatoes and carrots to have on the side. Potatoes were a great deal at the store this past week, so I figured I mind as well start using the large bag of potatoes sitting in the corner of our kitchen. The carrots were another thing I threw in for the husband.. he likes cooked carrots. I on the other hand have a great dislike for cooked carrots and even the smell of them is enough to make me gag. But I can’t ever get enough of raw carrots, explain that one to me.

All in all it was a pretty good meal, the red wine may have helped, and I had a happy man and I can’t ask for much more than that 🙂

I had green beans with my portion for some veggies.

 

Roast Venison

1 Venison roast

1/2 onion, chopped

1 container lower sodium beef broth

3 potatoes, quartered

Olive oil

Dried Rosemary

Salt and Pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven 400 degrees. Rub the roast with olive oil, place in an 8×8 baking dish. Salt, Pepper, and rub with Rosemary. Pour broth into the pan to fill the bottom and sprinkle onion around the roast. Place in oven for 30 min, turn oven back to 300 for 50 more min. Place potatoes in the same or a separate dish with some beef broth, salt, and pepper. I put them in a separate pan because I did not want to crowd the meat, but you could cook them together.

One thought on “Venison Roast

  1. Pingback: Putting it all together | cookingforthelove

Leave a comment