Old Fashioned Cornbread and Chili

I have had some ground venison thawing in the fridge the past few days and I was really unsure what I wanted to do with it. I decided that its fate was chili. I haven’t made chili yet this season, and that needed to change. I love chili and often make big batches of it during the colder months to use for quick dinners and warm lunches. I decided that since things were going to get a little busy later this week it would be nice to have on hand for dinners. I also love the fresh ingredients that go in to chili, the beans, veggies, and proteins. It is nutrition in a bowl!

No chili that I make is the same, I have a general blue print recipe but honestly I just throw things in to a pot. I generally use a combination of fresh and canned ingredients. Generally, I use canned beans, tomatoes, and a pre-made chili seasoning. But then I typically use home-made chicken stock, fresh herbs, and frozen corn (which we freeze large amounts of in the summer).

Sometimes it turns out better than others, today’s batch was excellent! Sometimes it is spicy, sometimes it isn’t. Sometimes it is soupy, sometimes it is more chunky. Sometimes it is made with turkey, sometimes it is made with venison. Sometimes I serve it with nacho chips, sometimes I serve it with cornbread. Tonight was a cornbread night.

This was the first time actually making the cornbread though. Usually the mix is so cheap I opt for making a boxed mix of cornbread. Tonight, I actually had corn meal in the house and decided that the recipe was certainly easy enough, why not give it a try. Let’s just say I am never going back to the boxed mix, this cornbread was the perfect mix of crispy on the outside, crumbly, and moist. It was incredible, we both had several pieces! Let’s just say this whole dinner just tasted fantastic!

 

Chili

1 lb Ground meat

1 onion, diced

1 garlic clove, minced

3 TBS tomato paste

1 packet chili seasoning

1/2 jar roasted peppers (or  1 can Rotel) (or 1 fresh sweet pepper, cut in strips and sauteed)

1 can kidney beans

1 can black beans

1 can corn (or about 1 1/2 ears)

1 can diced tomatoes

2-3 cups chicken or beef stock (depends on meat you are using)

Olive Oil

Salt

Pepper

Oregano

Basil

Chili Pepper (for extra spice)

Directions: 

In a large stock pot brown meat, in a smaller pan saute onion, garlic, and peppers (if using fresh) in olive oil. Once meat is browned add onion mixture to large pot. Then add all other ingredients into the large pot, stir. Let cook on low-medium until all flavors have blended (1 hour) add extra seasoning as desired.

 

Cornbread

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup flour (I used white-wheat)

1/2 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs

2/3 cup milk

1/2 cup oil

Directions:

Preheat oven 400 degrees. Mix all ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Grease an 8in loaf pan or muffin tins with non-stick spray. Place batter in desired pan form. Cook for 20-25min

One thought on “Old Fashioned Cornbread and Chili

Leave a Reply

