Spaghetti Squash

I seriously loved spaghetti squash as a kid. I remember my mom making it for us a couple of times a year, I always looked forward to it and longed for it when she didn’t make it for awhile. My mom made it as a side dish with butter and brown sugar and it was like dessert for dinner, I loved it. I don’t recall eating it much as I got older, but I re-discovered it a few years ago and tried to make it myself. It was just as good as I remembered it! It was recently that I realized some people actually put tomato sauce on it and eat it just like spaghetti, crazy right?

While I don’t necessarily consider it a trade off for real pasta nor would I ever try to “trick” anyone into eating it and thinking that it was real pasta, I did decide that I needed to try it for myself. It is honestly a great alternative for those who can’t eat gluten or for those who are watching their calories, or just want to try something new!

I decided to take a different route than just dumping tomato sauce on top of it. I wanted it to be a pretty dish and with lots of flavor. This did not disappoint! You could really add any type of vegetables to it, but I have to say this was the perfect combination and it was gone very quickly.

If you live with someone who can be a bit of a picky eater at times, or rather a bit close minded at times, you can do what I did and cook the squash a head of time. I cooked the squash last night and stored it in a container in the fridge plain. I then took out a portion for Andrew and added the butter and brown sugar and made it just the way he liked it, and then I took out my portion and made it a little different. It was also the quickest dinner ever once I had the squash already cooked. Perfect to make on busy nights or after a late work night. Cook the squash on the weekend and then throw this meal together in literally 2 minutes.

Cooking Spaghetti Squash

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Slice the squash in half, scoop out the seeds. Place insides down on a lined baking sheet. Place in oven for 45-60 minutes or until soft.

Once the squash is soft, let cool. The with a fork scoop out the insides into a container, or bowl if you are serving it right away.The squash should come out relatively easily and in long stringy strands just like spaghetti.

Store for later use or use promptly. It should look like the picture below.

 

Spaghetti Squash with Spinach

Desired amount of spaghetti squash, cooked

1 handful of spinach

black olives

Feta Cheese

Olive oil

Pepper

Adobo Seasoning

Tarragon

Directions:

Place spaghetti squash in a bowl, place the bowl in the microwave. While the spaghetti sqaush is heating up place olive oil and spinach in a skillet heated to medium. Cook until the spinach is wilted (1 minute). Slice olives in half and add to pan with spinach. Take squash out of the microwave once it is cooked through, add a little bit of olive oil and the spinach/olive mixture. Stir. Sprinkle feta cheese and herbs on top. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

