Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

 

That right there is my all time favorite breakfast! Whole Wheat Blueberry pancakes, bananas, peanut butter, cinnamon, and maple syrup (the real stuff)!

I have always loved pancakes, they were my go to “breakfast treat” I would hands down always choose pancakes when we went out to eat or would make a special breakfast at home. They are even a comfort food to me, and I often crave plain pancakes when I am sick. But when I’m healthy I say load em up with the blueberries, apples, or any other sort of yummy fruit! But these suckers right here, they are my go-to, my all time favorite pancakes EVER!

Andrew started making these pancakes for me a few years back, little did he know it would become a request from me again and again. We even freeze blueberries in the summer, so that we can have enough to make these year round! We make a large batch on our griddle and then I typically freeze the ones we don’t eat, so that I can just grab them out of the freezer and pop them in the toaster for a delicious breakfast anytime. It works well for me 🙂

 

 

Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

Adapted from this recipe

1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 egg

1 cup milk (plus about 2TBS, add until it is not super gloppy)

2 TBS sugar

1 cup blueberries

Directions:

Add all ingredients together in a mixing bowl (adding the blueberries last), and mix together but do not over mix or you may have blue batter! Add more milk if necessary. The batter should pour out into a smooth circle onto the griddle or into a pan (heated to medium).  If it stays in a large lump, add a bit more milk but be careful because a little milk goes a long way! As bubbles start to form the pancakes are ready for flipping. Cook both sides evenly. Whole wheat pancakes are a bit more dense than regular pancakes so it may take longer.

One thought on “Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes

Leave a Reply

