Baked Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Truth is.. I don’t like oatmeal all that much. It is something I have to be in the mood for, and really I just keep it on hand for when I start craving oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. However, when I saw this oatmeal I knew I had to try it.  I am so glad that I did! It seriously puts typical oatmeal to shame, it tastes like dessert. In fact, I have eaten it for breakfast AND for dessert today.

We had loads of oats in the house, and neither of us were getting around to making oatmeal in the morning for breakfast, so I figured I would whip up a batch of baked oatmeal that we could take out of the fridge in the morning to heat up and top as we like. I found a recipe for Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal on Budget Bytes blog and I figured I would give it a shot. I am so glad that I did. This oatmeal was perfect for breakfast with plain greek yogurt and a dribble of maple syrup, it was also awesome for dessert with Caramel swirl ice cream and whipped cream. DO it… NOW.

Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal

1 can (16oz) pumpkin puree

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1.5 cups milk

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp pumpkin spice

2.5 cups dry oats

Directions: Preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients together, adding oats last. Spray an 8×8 pan with non-stick cooking spray. Bake covered with foil for 30 minutes and then bake for 15 more minutes uncovered.

2 thoughts on “Baked Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal | cookingforthelove

Leave a comment