Tuscan Bean Soup

Come fall and winter time I eat a lot of soup. Not only is it warm, filling, and delicious it is super easy to make.  When I make soup I usually make a large pot, so we can have it for lunches and at least one dinner per week if not more. My soups are generally loaded with veggies and proteins. As much as I love the traditional soups, I like my soups to be filling AND wholesome.

I had all day long yesterday to think about this soup while I was at work and set to making it the second I walked in the door. When going into making this soup, I knew I had turkey stew meat from the turkey that Andrew got last fall that I wanted to use before he drags home another one hopefully next week. Other than that this soup was a blank slate. I looked at what we had in the pantry, fridge, and freezer and just started dumping leftovers and bits of things that were needing to be used. I also looked at a few soup recipes online and found a Tuscan Bean Soup that I desired to replicate, but made several swaps with things I had on hand. Instead of Cannellini beans I used Kidney beans, instead of butternut squash I used lentils, instead of fresh Kale I used canned turnip greens. This resulted in a broth-y soup with beans, lentils, veggies, potatoes, and turkey.  This would be excellent meat-less as well! I served it for lunch topped with Parmesan cheese and a whole grain roll on the side. Delicious!

 

Tuscan Bean Soup

1 lb roasted chicken or turkey

3 medium potatoes, diced

1 can greens or handful of fresh greens (spinach or turnip greens)

2 cans kidney beans

1 cup lentils

1 onion, diced

2 garlic cloves

Olive Oil

2 carrots, diced

2 stalks celery, diced

5 cups chicken broth

2 cups water

Salt and pepper to taste

Rosemary, basil, and oregano to taste

Parmesan cheese, for topping

Directions: Saute onions, garlic, and carrots until caremelized. Add all solid ingredients, then add broth, water, and herbs. Let cook until potatoes are cooked and meat is tender.

Leave a Reply

