The good old Turkey Sandwich

Let’s just say I’m a bit of a sucker for a good sandwich. Lunch is my absolute favorite meal of the day, and a good sandwich is my number one pick.  I am VERY particular with my sandwiches, my go-to sandwich contains Turkey, Mustard, Tomatoes, and sweet peppers. But non of that slimy,  deli turkey that is made of and loaded with who knows what…. Nope. I grew up eating freshly roasted turkey from a turkey farm that was near my house. Because of this, I cannot stand the idea of ever buying that slimy stuff. So how do I enjoy a good turkey sandwich? I roast my own turkey!

This past weekend we had some special visitors and I knew I needed to have some tasty lunch options on hand. So I went out in search of some turkey breast, though I couldn’t bring myself to buy an expensive turkey breast, so I sought out the next best option. I found some Turkey Tenderloins that were on special and set to roast them in the oven.

I placed some water in an 8×8 dish and placed the turkey tenderloins inside coating them with Penzey’s Sandwich sprinkle seasoning. I roasted them at 450 for about 20-30 minutes until the turkey was cooked through and registering at 165 degrees. I placed the turkey on a large cutting board and let it sit until I could handle it. I then took a very sharp knife and sliced it thinly and stored it in a container in the fridge until it was needed for lunches on Saturday. I have to say this was delicious and it was way cheaper to roast these tenderloins than it would have been to buy a 1lb or more of lunch meat and way better for you!

I also picked up some other good sandwich makings to add to the turkey. I have been craving avocado for a good while now, and finally found some that were decently priced, so I decided to treat our guests to avocados and tomatoes. I may have found my new favorite sandwich!

Freshly roasted turkey, Dijon mustard, avocado, tomato, and provolone cheese. YUM!

 

And speaking of turkey, the husband got our very own turkey on Monday! He went out in the woods just before the storm hit and got our turkey of the season! Unfortunately I do not have any pictures, though I’m sure you didn’t want to see the gruesome process. Our goal was to butcher it as fast as possible, because we weren’t sure if we were going to lose power from hurricane Sandy and we wanted to get it in the freezer and very frozen ASAP. But I am excited that we will have another turkey to eat through all year round and make stock from! I am also excited to share with you the delicious recipes I will be making with it!

What is your favorite sandwich?

Leave a Reply

