Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

Remember that time I told you all I didn’t really like oatmeal, but I was totally willing to give baked oatmeal a try? Yea, I’m obsessed. I think my usual yogurt breakfast has been replaced by baked oatmeal topped with yogurt for the winter months.

I couldn’t get enough of the pumpkin baked oatmeal I made last week, and was totally devastated when I ate the last piece yesterday morning. So, what did I do. I obviously made more, but this time I decided to get a little more adventurous and experiment with some Apple Cinnamon baked oatmeal. I am so glad that I did! It tastes like an apple pie mixed with a delicious apple oat bar or cookie or cake, you pick one. Basically, it tastes like it is soooooo bad for me like I should only be eating it at dessert time, but it isn’t.  It is healthy and it’s breakfast!

This version has delicious soft baked apples and crunchy walnuts. I also topped it with cinnamon before placing it in the oven to bake. It is a whole lot of delicious, especially topped with yogurt and a dash of cinnamon.

Baked Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

1 1/2 cups applesauce (I used my homemade applesauce)

1/4 cup Brown Sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1.5 cups milk

2.5  cups oats, dry

2 TBS crushed walnuts

1 ripe apple, peeled and diced

Directions:

Preheat oven 350

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, adding oats, walnuts, and diced apples last. Coat an 8×8 baking pan with cooking spray. Evenly distribute oat mixture throughout pan. Cover with foil and bake for 35 minute, uncover and bake 20 more minutes.  Store covered with foil in the refrigerator. Serve hot, plain, or with your favorite toppings.Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

  1. I made this two mornings ago and it was so yummy! I had made apple butter so used that and chopped up one small apple. Also used homemade almond milk vs milk and worked well! and good the next day too!

Leave a Reply

