How to get your husband to eat his vegetables

I think I’ve expressed this before,  Andrew is a total meat, potatoes, and bread kind of man. While I am a bit of health nut and love my  fruits and vegetables. So naturally I keep our meals fairly healthy and filled with fruits, veggies, whole grains, and healthy fats with a few treats thrown in between. It’s all about the balance, right?

He usually eats our meals without much complaint, unless he really doesn’t like something, but he never really loves the vegetable part. That is until I made this pan roasted Lemon Garlic Broccoli this week.

I bought two crowns of broccoli this week and decided to try something new with the first one earlier this week. I wanted something quick, and full of flavor. I got a little guidance from a few cookbooks I have in order to come up with this. The outcome was great, and Andrew asked if there was more. Another helping of vegetables? What happened to my husband? I told him that there was no more, but that we had another crown of broccoli and that I would make it again later in the week. He said I could make this dish anytime I wanted, and in fact I could make all our vegetables with garlic and lemon from now on and he would be very happy to eat them! WIN!

I served this dish with some venison steaks, oven roasted squash, and some red wine! Delish!

So if you have a picky eating husband when it comes to vegetables, just add some  garlic, lemon, and parmesan cheese and they are happy to eat them!

Pan Roasted Garlic and Lemon Broccoli

1 crown of broccoli, cut and washed

Olive oil

1 clove garlic

3 TBS water

1 TBS lemon juice

Directions: Heat a pan over medium heat with olive oil. Add broccoli and roast on one side until lightly browned, then flip the broccoli to the other side. After that side is slightly roasted add a clove of garlic and stir around, then add the water and cover the pan and let the broccoli cook until it is bright green (about 5 min). Remove cover and add lemon juice and let the remaining water cook off. Serve as is or top with some Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

