Kale Kale Everywhere

Sorry to leave you all hanging for awhile. It was a rather busy week, and I didn’t have much time to cook anything interesting, or worth sharing with you all. That is until this weekend! Remember how I was saying I had no idea what to do with Kale, but I had loads of it that I needed to do something with! Well, I think I found two pretty awesome recipes! A warm kale salad, and creamed kale!  In fact, one will be making an appearance on our Thanksgiving dinner table! Can you believe it is Thanksgiving already? I can’t, but I am sure glad it is! Thanksgiving is my very favorite holiday The food at Thanksgiving is probably my favorite holiday food, but I also love the family time and the focus on the meal and time together. I can’t wait to spend it with my Husband this year as well as both of our families, what a blessing!

The first kale dish I made since I made the Kale Pesto was a Warm kale salad. I lightly based it off of this recipe from Women’s Health with a few of my own touches based on what I had and thought would taste good. It was incredible and had all the tastes of fall. This is the recipe that will be taking on the Thanksgiving Day table as a new and fresh touch to the average vegetable dish!

Warm Kale Salad

2 bunches Kale, washed and chopped

1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

1 TBS Fresh Rosemary

1/2 minced shallot (or onion which I used because I didn’t have a shallot)

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 cup Delcata Squash, cubed and roasted (or any other fall squash such as butternut or acorn)

3 TBS Pomegranate seeds

Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

Chop Kale and shallot (or onion) and place in a medium bowl. Top with vinegar, oil, rosemary, and salt and pepper to taste. Massage the dressing into the kale and mix well. Let sit in fridge for several hours to slightly break down the kale. Once the kale is ready heat a pan on medium heat and add the kale and squash to it. Cook for 5-10 minutes until everything is heated through. Remove from heat and add Pomegranate seeds and Parmesan cheese.

 

The second kale dish I made in the last week was creamed kale. It tasted just like creamed spinach from a really fancy steak house. I paired it with salmon and roasted potatoes and it was an excellent meal! I’ve seen recipes for creamed spinach popping up all over in the last week from blogs to cooking shows so when I looked in my fridge and saw that I had the end of a bag of kale to use up as well as  a carton of half and half sitting in my fridge leftover from when I made the Corn chowder I knew that I had to try out creamed kale. I am so glad that I did! Creamed spinach is one of Andrew’s favorites so I was really pleased that this came out so well, and while he doesn’t always love kale, he loved this dish! This could also be a great Thanksgiving or Christmas side dish.

Creamed Kale

1 bunch of kale, chopped

1/2 cup chicken stock

1/2 onion, diced

1/2 stick butter

2 TBS flour

3/4 cup fat free half and half (or regular, I just had fat free on hand)

2 tbs Mozzarella (or Parm) Cheese

Directions: Place Kale in a large skillet over medium heat, pour chicken broth over it and cover with lid. Melt butter over low-medium heat, add flour whisking constantly. If it turns clumpy add a bit more butter until it smooths out a little. Add onion and continue to whisk, turn heat up to medium and allow the substance to continue to heat through and cook the onion a bit. Once onion is slightly cooked add half and half, Continue to stir. The sauce will begin to thicken in a few minutes, once it does turn back the heat to low.  Continue to stir and add cheese. Remove lid from Kale and allow liquid to cook off while you keep your eye on the cream sauce. Once most of the liquid is cooked off add Kale and cream sauce together and mix.

Do you have your Thanksgiving menu ready?!

 

 

 

One thought on “Kale Kale Everywhere

Leave a Reply

