Sweet Potato and Apple Pancakes

Is everyone gearing up for the holidays? We sure are around here! We put up our very first tree together this weekend, it was loads of fun to traipse around the field and pick out our tree together and then come home and decorate it! While we have spent several Christmas’ together this is our very first Christmas in our house and as a married couple, very exciting!

DSCN1802

 

I told you I made him do the tedious tasks around here… I can’t stand to sew and he knows how and does it well, so I set him to work on making our tree skirt while I decorated the tree, it was a fun afternoon!

DSCN1799

After we were done decorating the tree and around the house, I got to work on a new to us dinner. Sweet Potato and Apple pancakes was a recipe I saw in a new cookbook I received for my birthday, The Chew cookbook. I love The Chew and watch it whenever I have the opportunity, so I was very excited to receive their cookbook from my parents!

DSCN1803

The pancakes were great, and I served them with runny eggs and cabbage. An interesting dinner to say the least, but it was tasty. Andrew had his reservations, but he actually enjoyed it!

Eggs with Sweet Potato and Apple Pancakes

2 eggs, cooked to liking

1/4 cup olive oil

1 sweet potato, grated

1/2 onion, grated

1/2 apple, grated

2 egg whites (I used the whole egg and it was great too)

1/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Directions: 

Grate sweet potato, apple, and onion. I used a food processor with a grate attachment which made a great texture and was super easy! Use a cheese cloth to squeeze all the moisture out of the mixture, which will make for a crispier pancake. I used a dishcloth and squeezed the life out of it and it worked just fine. Add, egg whites, flour, salt and pepper to the grated mixture and combine.

Heat a pan to medium-high and add 1/4 cup of oil. Let oil heat while you form pancakes. Add pancakes to the oil and cook until crispy on one side then flip. About 1 min each side, depending on how hot the pan is. While the pancakes are cooking heat another pan to medium and spray with non-stick spray. Crack desired number of eggs, as soon as the white begins to cook add a few drops of water and cover. Cook egg until the yolk is how you prefer.

Serve pancakes with egg on top. Enjoy!

DSCN1812

The leftover pancakes are great in a salad and smeared with hummus!

Leave a Reply

